Sultan Bin Ali Al Owais Cultural Foundation


In stock

SKU: SBAACF -001 Category:


The Sultan Bin Ali Al Owais Cultural Foundation was launched on Thursday, December 17, 1987. The Head of the Foundation’s General Secretariat at the time, H.E. Abdul Ghaffar Hussain announced that the poet, Sultan Bin Ali Al Owais, had established a prestigious cash award to recognize the achievements of distinguished Arab writers, novelists, poets and scholars, whose work is beneficial and useful to Arab society.
The cash Awards granted by the Sultan Bin Ali Al Owais Cultural Foundation total USD $600,000. Winners receive USD $120,000 each in the following categories:

– Poetry Award
– Short Story, Novel and Drama Award
– Literary and Critical Studies Award
– Humanitarian and Futuristic Studies Award
– Cultural and Scientific Achievement Award

The Awards are given to Arab innovators regardless of their nationalities, political beliefs, ideologies, religious or sectarian affiliations, color and race. They are solely governed by the laws of innovation.

There have been 73 winners of the Sultan Bin Ali Al Owais Cultural Awards from all the Arab countries, to date.

The Foundation is governed by a Board of Trustees comprising well-known national figures and nominal identities
The Sultan Bin Ali Al Owais Foundation became an official foundation bearing the same name by the virtue of Emiri Decree No. 4 dated March 21, 1994, issued by His Highness, the late Sheikh Maktoum Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE, and Ruler of Dubai at the time.

To commemorate the silver Jubilee of Sultan Bin Ali Al Owais Cultural Foundation, and highlight its role in spreading culture in the United Arab Emirates, Emirates Post has issued a set of commemorative stamps in one denomination (1 AED) and a distinctive Souvenir Sheet.

Stamps per sheet : 20 – Sold as a full sheet of twenty stamps

Stamp Price:  1 AED

Additional information

Weight 0.01 kg